Pages Menu
Categories Menu

International Workshop on Ultra-Strong Light-Matter Interactions: 

theory and applications to quantum information, 19-21 September 2016, Bilbao, Spain


USC workshop figure

VENUE: Salón de Grados, Faculty of Science and Technology, Leioa Campus, University of the Basque Country, Bilbao, Spain

DATES: 19-21 September 2016

The Rabi model is a semi-classical description of the dipolar interaction of a nuclear spin with electromagnetic radiation. Its full quantum version, known as the quantum Rabi model, has been applied more generally to describe the interaction between a two-level quantum system and a single bosonic mode, regardless of their specific physical origin. In the strong coupling regime, where the coupling strength is larger than dissipation but small compared to the system characteristic frequencies, the quantum Rabi model can be reduced via a rotating-wave approximation to the Jaynes-Cummings model. The latter has been used for decades to explain a plethora of experiments in quantum optics and condensed matter, such as cavity quantum electrodynamics, trapped ions, superconducting circuits, and quantum dots, among others.

Recently, the quantum Rabi model has emerged in different interdisciplinary scenarios. We identify three main reasons: (i) experiments have reached the ultra-strong and deep strong coupling regimes, where the rotating-wave approximation and thus the Jaynes-Cummings model are not valid; (ii) we are discovering novel regimes of light-matter interactions and potential applications in quantum information technologies; (iii) analytic solutions were found for all regimes of the quantum Rabi model. Along these lines, we are witnessing the emergence of a burgeoning field, opening the door to the interplay of mathematics, physics and technology.

This Workshop aims at gathering the growing community working in the interdisciplinary related fields, to present recent highlights and consolidate this promising research avenue.


In addition to invited talks, there will be contributed talks and poster session, as well as a round table. To apply for a contributed talk, poster, or attendance, send an email before 31 July to the address including your name, affiliation, and a title and short abstract in case you apply for a contribution.

The conference fee is 100 Euros, which will be paid by all participants.


To book one of the recommended hotels, please follow this link.


To download a pdf of the Workshop Program, follow this link.


To download the Book of Abstracts, follow this link.


To travel from the Bilbao airport to the city, going to the Campus in Leioa, and moving around Bilbao, please follow this link.

There will be a bus from the Conference that will take the participants from the hotels to the venue (Leioa Campus of the University of the Basque Country) and back.

The bus will depart on September 19, 20, and, 21, at 8 am (sharp, please be there 10 minutes in advance, the bus will not wait), from the bus stop of the Calle Urrutia that is next to the Plaza de Indautxu (5 min. walk from Silken Indautxu and Ercilla hotels).  See map for more details.

The bus will depart from the Campus every evening at 19, in front of the Faculty of Science and Technology (the venue of the Workshop).


The Conference Dinner will take place at Restaurante Serantes, located at the Calle Licenciado Poza 16, 48011 Bilbao. See map for more details. The dinner will start at 20:30 on Tuesday 20.


C.K. Andersen (Aarhus University)
M. Bamba (Osaka University)
M. Batchelor (Chongqing University and Australian National University)upv-ehu_logo
D. Braak (Augsburg University)
J. Braumüller (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)
Q.-H. Chen (Zhejiang University)
M.-S. Choi (Korea University)
C. Ciuti (Paris-Diderot University)
S. De Liberato (University of Southampton)
F. Deppe (Walther-Meissner Institute)ikerbasque_logo
P. Domokos (Wigner Research Centre)
P. Forn-Díaz (IQC Waterloo)
J.J. García-Ripoll (CSIC Madrid)
M. Hartmann (Heriot-Watt University)
M. Hirokawa (Hiroshima University)
M.-J. Hwang (Ulm University)
E. Irish (University of Southampton)
A. Klimov (University of Guadalajara)UW_IQC_RGB_logo
J. Kono (Rice University)
N. Langford (Delft University of Technology)
J. Larson (Stockholm University)
M. Leder (University of Bonn)
T. Li (Tsinghua University) GVLogo
H.-G. Luo (Lanzhou University)
A. Maciejewski (University of Zielona Gora)
V. Manucharyan (Joint Quantum Institute)
P. Rabl (Technical University of Vienna)
M. Sanz (University of the Basque Country)
G. Steele (Technical University of Delft)MINECOLogo
M. Wakayama (Kyushu University)
C. Wilson (Institute for Quantum Computing)
F. Yoshihara (National Institute of Information and Communications Technology)
H. Zheng (Shanghai Jiao Tong University)
H.-Q. Zhou (Chongqing University)
D. Zueco (University of Zaragoza)


M. Batchelor (Co-Chair), D. Braak, Q.-H. Chen, E. Solano (Chair), C. Wilson


A. Blais, C. Ciuti, F. Deppe, M. Hirokawa, K. Semba, M. Wakayama


I.L. Egusquiza, L. Lamata (Co-Chair), E. Rico (Chair), M. Sanz