Categories Menu

Quantum Machine Learning & Biomimetic Quantum Technologies




Following the successful series of events on quantum machine learning organized in South Africa, the aim of this workshop is to go one step further and gather experts and interested colleagues in interdisciplinary research areas: from classical machine learning to quantum machine learning and quantum artificial intelligence, from theoretical developments to experimental groups in quantum technologies, as well as from memristive systems to quantum memristors and neural networks. Our goal is to enhance the sharing of ideas and the discussion of how to implement these novel ideas in current quantum platforms. We would also like to explore the latest advances on quantum algorithms applied to quantum machine learning, and the use of classical machine learning algorithms, such as genetic algorithms or autoencoders, to facilitate quantum tasks. We also intend to tap the potential of bioinspired quantum technologies, such as quantum memristors or quantum artificial intelligence, in order to develop and implement the aforementioned algorithms. We think it is time to approach the impressive theoretical developments in these fields with cutting-edge experiments in a variety of quantum technologies.

Conference Fee
The Conference Fee, which covers the social event, is 200 euros, to be paid by all participants (we will give instructions in due time with the acceptance notification).

Applications (deadline for applications is December 31st 2017)
The application for contributed talks and posters is performed via email ( by sending the title and the abstract of your contribution and whether you apply for a contributed talk or a poster. Unfortunately, we have very few slots for contributed talks.

Paraninfo of the Faculty of Science and Technology
University of the Basque Country, Leioa (Spain)

Invited Speakers

Mohammad Amin (D-Wave Systems)
Alán Aspuru-Guzik* (Harvard University)
Jacob Biamonte (Skolkovo Institute of Science and Technology)
Paolo Bianco (Airbus)
Hans Briegel (University of Innsbruck)
Jorge Casanova (Ulm University)
Raúl Casaña-Eslava (Liverpool John Moores University)
Lucas Céleri (University of Goiás)
James Clarke* (Intel)
Max Di Ventra (UC San Diego)
Yonatan Dubi (Ben Gurion University)
Vedran Dunjko (Max-Planck Institute of Quantum Optics)
Stefan Filipp (IBM Research, Zurich)
Joseph Fitzsimons (National University of Singapore)
Anthony Laing (Bristol University)
Seth Lloyd (MIT)
José D. Martín-Guerrero (Universitat de València)
Sarah Mostame (Intel)
Ramón Muñoz-Tapia (Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona)
Florian Neukart (Volkswagen)
Hartmut Neven* (Google QAI Lab)
Yasser Omar (Instituto de Telecomunicações)
Mauro Paternostro (Queen’s University Belfast)
Melika Payvand (ETH Zürich)
Sebastiano Peotta (Aalto University)
Alejandro Perdomo-Ortiz (NASA Ames)
Borja Peropadre (Raytheon BBN Technologies)
Yuri V. Pershin* (University of South Carolina)
Paul Pfeiffer (Bernstein Zentrum für Computational Neuroscience Berlin)
Raphael Pooser (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
John Realpe-Gomez (NASA Ames)
Juan Carlos Retamal (USACH)
Diego Ristè (Raytheon BBN Technologies)
Maria Schuld (University of KwaZulu-Natal)
Fabio Sciarrino (Sapienza Università di Roma)
João Seixas* (CERN/Instituto Superior Técnico)
Jacob Taylor (University of Maryland)
Kristan Temme (IBM Research, NY)
Fabio L. Traversa (UC San Diego)
Volker Tresp (Siemens)
Matthias Troyer* (Microsoft)
Jean-Roch Vlimant (CERN)
Andreas Wallraff (ETH Zurich)
Göran Wendin (Chalmers University)
Nathan Wiebe (Microsoft)
Frank Wilhelm (Universität des Saarlandes)
Peter Wittek (ICFO)
Roberta Zambrini (IFISC)

* To be confirmed

upv-ehu_logoOrganizing Committee

Mikel Sanz (Local Chair, University of the Basque Country)
Maria Schuld (International Chair, University of KwaZulu-Natal)
Enrique Solano (Local Chair, University of the Basque Country)
Francesco Petruccione (International Chair, University of KwaZulu-Natal)
Lucas Lamata (University of the Basque Country)
Yasser Omar (Instituto de Telecomunicações)
José D. Martín-Guerrero (Universitat de València)
Max Di Ventra (UC San Diego)ikerbasque_logo

Scientific Committee

Francesco Petruccione (University of KwaZulu-Natal)
Enrique Solano (University of the Basque Country)
Yasser Omar (Instituto de Telecomunicações)
Alexander Szameit (University of Rostock)GVLogo
Jonas Bylander (Chalmers University)
Seth Lloyd (MIT)
Max Di Ventra (UC San Diego)
Hans Briegel (University of Innsbruck)
José D. Martín-Guerrero (Universitat de València)